KNUST Courses

KNUST logo

KNUST Courses


The Peace Pole was erected on the campus of the university on 21 September 2006 on the International Day of Peace. The pole is made of a 105-year-old sapele tree that used to stand in the university’s botanical garden. The pole is 16.7 metres (55 feet) tall. Indigenous symbols have been carved in bas-relief on it in five languages (Twi—a local language in Ghana, Hindi, Chinese, Swahili, and Arabic). The peace prayer on the pole says: “May peace be upon Earth”

From the 2010/11 academic year some of the colleges operate a two-tier system, while others maintain their three-tier system.

College of Agriculture and Natural Resources

  • Faculty of Agriculture
  • Department of Agricultural Economics, Agribusiness and Extension
  • Department of Animal Sciences
  • Department of Crop and Soil Sciences
  • Department of Horticulture
  • Faculty of Renewable Natural Resources
  • Department of Agroforestry
  • Department of Fisheries and Watershed Management
  • Department of Silviculture and Forest Management
  • Department of Wildlife and Range Management
  • Department of Wood Science and Technology
  • Faculty of Forest Resources Technology (Sunyani)
  • Department of Ecotourism and Forest Recreation
  • Department of Land Reclamation and Rehabilitation
  • Department of Social Forestry
  • Department of Wood Processing and Marketing

College of Health Sciences

  • Faculty of Allied Health Sciences
  • Department of Medical Laboratory Technology
  • Department of Nursing
  • Department of Sonography
  • Department of Sports and Exercise Science
  • Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Dental School
  • School of Medical Sciences
  • School of Veterinary medicine

College of Humanities and Social Sciences

  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Social Sciences
  • Department of Economics
  • Department of English
  • Department of Geography and Rural Development
  • Department of History and Political Studies
  • Department of Modern Languages
  • Department of Religious Studies
  • Department of Sociology and Social Work
  • School of Business

Colleges under the two-tier system (Provost/Head of Department):

College of Arts and Built Environment

The College of Arts and Built Environment (KNUST)
The College of Art and Built Environment formerly known as College of Architecture and Planning came into existence in January 2005 as part of the restructuring of the University into a Collegiate System. In the restructuring, the Faculty of Environmental and Development studies (FEDS) and the Institute of Land Management and Development (ILMAD) were merged to form the College. FEDS comprised three teaching departments: Department of Architecture, department of Building Technology and Department of Housing and Planning Research. ILMAD comprised two departments, Department of Land Economy and the Land Resources Centre. The college currently comprises two faculties, ten teaching Departments and one research institute:

  • Department of Communication Design
  • Department of General Art Studies
  • Department of Painting and Sculpture
  • Department of Integrated Rural Art/Industry
  • Department of Industrial Art
  • Department of Publishing Studies
  • Department of Architecture
  • Department of Building Technology
  • Department of Planning
  • Department of Land Economy
  • Department of Architecture
  • Department of Building Technology
  • Department of Land Economy
  • Department of Planning
  • Centre for Settlements Studies
  • Centre for Land Studies

College of Engineering

  • Department of Agricultural Engineering
  • Department of Aerospace Engineering
  • Department of Chemical Engineering
  • Department of Civil Engineering
  • Department of Computer Engineering
  • Department of Electrical Engineering/Electronic Engineering & Telecommunication Engineering
  • Department of Geological Engineering
  • Department of Geodetic Engineering
  • Department of Geomatic Engineering
  • Department of Materials Engineering
  • Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Department of Petroleum Engineering

College of Science

  • Department of Biochemistry and Biotechnology
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Computer Science
  • Department of Environmental Science
  • Department of Food Science and Technology
  • Department of Mathematics
  • Department of Optometry and Visual Science
  • Department of Physics
  • Department of Theoretical and Applied Biology

Institute of Distance Learning

In the year 2005, the KNUST adopted distance learning as a viable complement to the conventional face-to-face system of education. This decision was made to offer opportunity for people to pursue academic programmes with the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, while still on full-time employment.

In October 2007, the Academic Board changed the status of the Faculty of Distance Learning to the Institute of Distance Learning.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.