University Of Alabama System Schools

University Of Alabama System Schools

The University of Alabama System consists of three public universities in Alabama, United States: The University of Alabama (UA) located in Tuscaloosa, The University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB), and The University of Alabama in Huntsville (UAH). The schools have a total undergraduate and graduate enrollment of more than 55,000, with over 30,000 students in Tuscaloosa, just under 18,000 at Birmingham and 7,600 in Huntsville. The system operates on state appropriations, student tuition and fees, public and private grants and contracts, and revenue from the UAB Health System. The three universities’ endowments are managed by the UAS office and have a total pooled value of $984.9 million.

University of Alabama

Founded in 1831 and located in Tuscaloosa, Alabama, The University of Alabama (also known as Alabama, or colloquially as ‘Bama) is the flagship school of the University of Alabama System and the largest university in the state in terms of enrollment. Within Alabama, it is often called the Capstone and UA. UA is the senior and the largest in terms of enrollment of the state’s major research universities. Outside the state, it is well known for the fact that its athletic teams are nicknamed the “Crimson Tide” (crimson the primary color of the State Flag of Alabama and one of the school colors).

UA offers programs of study in 12 academic divisions leading to bachelor’s, master’s, Education Specialist, and doctoral degrees. The only publicly supported law school in Alabama is at UA. Other academic programs unavailable elsewhere in Alabama include doctoral programs in anthropology, library and information studies, metallurgical and material engineering, Romance languages, and social work. The doctoral program in health education, a joint program of the University of Alabama and the University of Alabama at Birmingham, ranks seventh in the nation according to a recent study published in the Journal of Health Education.

University of Alabama at Birmingham

The University of Alabama at Birmingham (also nationally known as UAB) is a doctoral, public research university covering 83 blocks in the heart of Alabama’s largest city Birmingham, Alabama, USA. The Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education classifies UAB as an institution of RU/VH or “Very High Research Activity,” the only university in the state of Alabama to meet that definition. UAB is one of only 96 universities in the nation with the designation.UAB is a vital economic engine of the state of Alabama with an estimated almost $5 billion annual impact. UAB is currently the state’s largest employer with more than 18,000 faculty and staff and over 53,000 jobs at the university and in the health system. Almost 10% of the jobs in the Birmingham-Hoover Metropolitan Area are related to UAB.

UAB offers over 140 nationally and regionally accredited programs of study through 12 academic divisions leading to bachelor’s, master’s, doctoral, and professional degrees in various fields, including the social and behavioral sciences, the liberal arts, business, education, engineering, and health-related fields such as medicine, dentistry, optometry, nursing, and public health. The school is highly renowned for its medical research and natural sciences programs.

University of Alabama in Huntsville

The University of Alabama in Huntsville (also known as UAH or UAHuntsville) is located in Huntsville, Alabama and it was founded in 1969. UAH is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools to award bachelor’s degrees, master’s degrees, and doctorates. This university is organized into five colleges: business, engineering, the liberal arts, nursing, and the sciences.

UAH is known for its programs in engineering and the physical sciences, such as geophysics (the Earth’s magnetosphere) and the physics of interplanetary space. UAH is a Space Grant university, and it has a history of cooperation with both the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (See: Marshall Space Flight Center) and the U.S. Army Aviation and Missile Command. The National Space Science and Technology Center is on the campus of UAH.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s